Canadian Penitentiary Service. The penitentiary service operates under the Penitentiary Act (RSC 1970, c.P-6) and is under the jurisdiction of the solicitor general of Canada. It is responsible for all federal penitentiaries and for the care and training of persons committed to those institutions. The commissioner of penitentiaries, under the direction of the solicitor general, has control and management of the service and all matters connected therewith.

Canadian Pension Commission. This commission, established in 1933 by amendments to the Pension Act (RSC 1970, c.P-7), replaced the Board of Pension Commissioners, the first organization created to deal solely with war pensions for service in Canada's armed forces. The commission's main function is administration of the Pension Act under which it adjudicates on all claims for pensions in respect of disability or death arising out of service in Canada's armed forces; and parts of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act, which provide for payment of pensions in respect of death or disability arising out of civilian service directly related to the prosecution of World War II. It also adjudicates on claims for pension under various other measures, authorizes and pays monetary grants accompanying certain gallantry awards bestowed on members of the armed forces and administers various trust funds established by private individuals for the benefit of veterans and their dependents. The commission consists of eight to 14 commissioners and up to 10 ad hoc commissioners appointed by the Governor-in-Council. Its chairman has the rank of a deputy minister and it reports to Parliament through the minister of veterans affairs.

Canadian Permanent Committee on Geographical Names. This committee deals with all questions of geographical nomenclature affecting Canada and advises on research and investigation into the origin and use of geographical names. Its membership includes representatives of federal mapping agencies and other federal offices concerned with nomenclature and a representative appointed by each province. The committee's functions were redefined in 1969 (order-in-council PC 1969-1458). The order-in-council recognizes that the provinces have exclusive jurisdiction to make decisions on names in lands under their jurisdiction. The committee is administered by the energy, mines and resources department.

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission. This commission, established as the Canadian Radio-Television Commission under the provisions of the Broadcasting Act (RSC 1970, c.B-11), regulates and supervises all aspects of the Canadian broadcasting system. The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, promulgated April 1, 1976, amended the Broadcasting Act to assign regulatory responsibility to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) over federally-regulated telecommunications carriers.

CRTC regulates and supervises a single Canadian broadcasting system, mainly through the process of licensing broadcasting undertakings and administering a body of regulation and policy statements with a view to implementing the policies set out in the Broadcasting Act.

One of the commission's methods of satisfying the concerns as set out in the Railway Act is the holding of public hearings in connection with applications for general rate revisions submitted by the telecommunications carriers under its jurisdiction.

The CRTC consists of an executive committee of up to nine full-time members composed of a chairman, two vice-chairmen and six other full-time members. The full commission includes the executive committee and up to 10 part-time members chosen regionally. All are appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The commission reports to Parliament through the minister of communications.

Canadian Saltfish Corporation. Established under the Saltfish Act (SC 1969-70, c.32) and operative since May 1970, this corporation's main purpose is to improve the earnings of fishermen and other primary producers of salt-cured fish, through production or purchase, processing and marketing of salt cod from participating provinces.

The head office is at St. John's, Nfld. The board of directors is composed of a chairman whose office is in Ottawa, a president who is general manager, one director for each participating province and not more than five other directors, all appointed by the Governor-in-Council. It is assisted by an advisory committee of 15 members, at least half of them fishermen or representatives of fishermen. The corporation's financial obligations are limited to \$15 million and it is required to operate without grant appropriation from Parliament. It reports to Parliament through the minister of fisheries and the environment.

Canadian Transport Commission. The commission, a court of record created in 1967 by the National Transportation Act (RSC 1970, c.N-17), took over powers formerly vested in the Board of Transport Commissioners, the Air Transport Board and the Canadian Maritime Commission. Its regulatory and judicial functions apply to almost all aspects of railway, commercial air, merchant marine, and commodity pipeline services. The act also provides for the regulation of extra-provincial motor vehicle transport but applicable sections of the act were not in effect as at September 1977, except with respect to the Roadcruiser autobus service operated by the Canadian National Railways in Newfoundland. On July 16, 1976, the CNR bus service was exempted by the Governor-in-Council from the provisions of the Motor Vehicle Transport Act (RSC 1970, c.M-14), and came under the jurisdiction of the Motor Vehicle Transport Committee of the Canadian Transport Commission, pursuant to Part III of the National Transportation Act. In all other